First Round of Health Care Innovation Awards Announced

The first organizations to receive Health Care Innovation awards were announced on May 8. The awards are made possible by the Affordable Care Act and will support 26 innovative projects across the U.S.

The criteria for selection included projects’ ability to save money, deliver high quality medical care, and enhance the health care workforce.

View all the preliminary award recipients as a list or as an interactive database.

We can’t wait to support innovative projects that will save money and make our health care system stronger. It’s yet another way we are supporting local communities now in their efforts to provide better care and lower cost.”

— Kathleen Sebelius, Secretary, Health and Human Services (HHS)

Over the next 3 years, the combined savings from the preliminary awardees announced yesterday are expected to reduce health spending by $254 million. The next round of preliminary award recipients is slated for announcement in early June.

How is technology changing your life for the better?

Learn more at

© Tony Leininger and IT for Good 2012. See sidebar for full copyright notice.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s